Enjoying life

I recovered quite well from last week’s crisis. Turns out that having misleaded expectations about yourself can be quite depressing. Instead of looking after what inspired me in the past, it is much more constructive to find what inspires me now and in the future. Funnily I really enjoy doing server stuff at the moment 🙂 Who would have thought that? Another factor was that a lot of stressful stuff was coming together last week, I needed to find ways to deal with these things… Anyway, what I wanted to get over is that I really enjoy life today.

Unrelated, but I just pushed my first 2 JNLP API additions into JDK6. As the cool guys say: YAY!

4 Responses to Enjoying life

  1. Dmitri Trembovetski says:

    Good to hear that you’re past your crisis, Roman.

  2. Glad to hear things are more rosy this week. We do all have our ups and downs… Maybe with age we learn that the downs aren’t the end of the world, just something to get through with gritted teeth, and possibly quite constructive and creative in the long run.

    Been there, done, that, took the Prozac. Nasty stuff: remind me to stick with recreational drugs in future… Bv<

    Rgds

    Damon

  3. Good to hear you’re a happy hacker again 🙂

    Sadly I can’t be as happy about the JNLP contributions; any idea when Sun might deign to open this stuff up? 🙂

  4. Hi, Kennke! I just thought about you the other day, when I was thinking about the project Jigsaw – the cutting of the JRE into tiny, tiny pieces. (At least I hope they’re really tiny!).

    Judging from your work on the graphics stuff of Java, you obviously are a refactoring Jedi, with JRE-internals knowledge to boot. Couldn’t you suggest yourself as a member of this project (Jigsaw)? So that you could employ your obviously awesome refactoring lightsaber to REALLY GOOD USE?! I mean, if I don’t use a String in my application, then I don’t want the String class loaded!! ;-p On a more serious note, smaller is better. How big is the flash player – 5 kilobytes or so?!

    Furthermore, I hope you haven’t dropped too deep into the back orifice of servers and all that. Your AWT/Swing and general graphics stuff needs to be continued!!

Leave a Reply

