The times they are a changin’ 2

So last week I effectively resigned my job @ aicas. After exactly 4 years. It was a great time, allowed me to hack on Classpath and OpenJDK more or less fulltime. But my nomad genes tell me that it’s time to move on. I still have lots of work to finish and contractual obligations, and will work for aicas for roughly 2 more months.

So what’s happening now? For one, I’m in negotiations w/ Sun for a position in the deployment team. Which is a bit crazy given Sun’s current negotiations with IBM. I really don’t know if I’d want to work for IBM. While I think I’d like Sun’ culture, I can’t say the same for IBM. So on one hand, I’m glad the deal broke up for now. On the other hand, this will probably leave Sun even more desperate. Now I’m hoping that Red Hat steps up and buys them :-D. The two would fit much better IMO. (But I’m not sure they have enough cash for this…)

If this fails for one reason or another, I should have a couple of other options. I could find another job. (If you have one, and think my resume is cool for you, simply contact me.) I could go the self-employed route. This is something I wanted to do for quite a while already, but never found the time/freedom/money to actually do.

Life seems to be quite crazy right now.

4 Responses to The times they are a changin’ 2

  1. Josh Marinacci says:

    Good luck. I hope you can join the deployment team. We can always use some good people.

  2. Best of luck from me, as well!

  3. Mario Torre says:

    You already know what I think, but I cannot avoid commenting. Just best of the best luck my friend.

  4. Clemens Eisserer says:

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

