A pipeline a day…

Yesterday evening I started implementing a Java2D pipeline on top of DirectFB. Today I can already run the full Java2Demo. Yay. I save myself the obligatory screenshots, becomes quite boring as they always look more or less the same. But I must say that I quite like DirectFB. If it was me, X11 could be ditched and free desktops built on top of DirectFB. Very nice and well thought-out API with a surprising lot of stuff in it (OpenGL, video-overlay, alpha-blending, etc, if supported by the provider of course).

9 Responses to A pipeline a day…

  1. David Herron says:

    Does DirectFB abstract itself so it runs over the network? If not then how can it replace X11? Okay maybe in retrospect this part of X11 isn’t so useful but back in 1988 when I first heard of X11 that was really really really cool to think you could make an app run from anywhere and display on your screen.

  2. testman says:

    @David,

    You know, there are situation where you are glad to use X11 client/server features … for instance, when you use application that does not perform well behind a SSH ot a NAT (anybody got JConsole in mind ?).

    Roman, this looks cool ey !

  3. Roman Kennke says:

    David: When I need X11, why not run an X-Server as user-app on top of DirectFB? Makes a lot more sense to me – and would be way smaller than what X is now.

  4. Clemens Eisserer says:

    Well, if DirectFB would be used instead of X, it would be as bloated as X in less than five years πŸ˜‰
    I don’t know how directfb manages to make more than one app work together, but either you call into kernel-code or you implement it with a server-process, like X does.

  5. Roman Kennke says:

    Clemens: the multiple apps argument is a good one. To be honest, I don’t know, because I’ve not tried this.

  6. Clemens Eisserer says:

    Just searched a bit arround, is now done by a kernel-module but was a ordinary use-process in earlier releases.

  7. Clemens Eisserer says:

    by the way, its really cool πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Swing links of the week: November 30, 2008 : Pushing Pixels

  9. collin says:

    A DirectFB back end is very cool. I looked back and saw the VxWorks stuff, fantastic. Has anyone ever does a SDL back end for Java 2d?

Leave a Reply

