Hired by Microsoft

Well. Not quite. But it makes a catching headline, eh? Seriously, a week or so ago, a headhunter from Microsoft wrote me a nice email, referring to my online resume, offering me a couple of jobs (seemingly centered around a company called Musiwave, that suffers the fate of having been assimilated by Microsoft). I answered that I’m not very much interested in those offerings, but if he had something in the Unix/Linux, Free/Open Source Software, Java, etc area, he could send me some pointers. He answered on that, saying he might have jobs for me, if I could send him a CV. Am I the only one seeing a circular thing here? Or is this not quite yet a CV? Anyway, I don’t really care, since I’m not hunting after a job anyway, but it’s still strange.

6 Responses to Hired by Microsoft

  1. Craig says:

    The same thing happens to me all the time. A head hunter calls me saying he saw my online resume…then asks me to send him a resume. Which makes no sense! I even have ODF, Word Doc, and PDF’s version of my resume for download there. It’s very, very strange.

  2. Yes, that seems pretty standard sadly. Got a similar exchange from a Google head hunter recently. When head hunters are involved often they just seem to do a quick search on some keywords they got from the business that needs some people, they try to catch as many people that “sound” interesting as possible. Then they will try to get those people to qualify themselves for that job, if they don’t want that, then getting a “fresh” CV in their mailbox will at least put you into their bin of “actively seeking”, so they know to target you for their next sweep. Which might not be bad, at least you will get more offerings and know what skill sets are currently being sought, even if most of the time it will be not tailored at you, but just some generic stuff.

  3. Don’t forget it’s getting close to the end of the year and salespeople have to meet their quotas πŸ˜›

    I’m getting quite cynical about recruiters these days… wonder if that’s because they’re almost as bad as used-car salesmen?

    Some more commentary:
    http://blog.notchup.com/2008/10/five-things-your-recruiter-wont-tell.html

  4. Pingback: This note’s for you Β» Blog Archive Β» Hired by Microsoft | kozmom //

  5. I’d just love to know what offerings Microsoft has in that area… Did you make it clear that you wanted something in the FOSS Java area that didn’t involve destroying it? πŸ˜‰

  6. Mario Torre says:

    Ahaha, it just happened to me now. Andrew, I’ll tell them in your words πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

