Nyquist go home!

Today I received (after some annoyance with the duty office) a very nice LP (Neil Young: Broken Arrow). I already knew the CD version, but the LP version has a very nice bonus track. When I put on the LP I was flabbergasted by the drastic audible difference in fidelity that the LP offers compared to the CD. This LP offeres a _lot_ more depth and liveliness than the CD. If anybody ever wants to argue with me again about this, please come here and compare for yourself. I admit, this is not exactly a scientific study, there’s still a possibility that the CD is mastered very badly or that my CD player is shit compared to my turntable. I still find it very surprising, especially since my hifi is everything but high-end audiophile (and my ears aren’t either). I’m curious how this compares with my new amp (Super-T, yay), when it arrives.

2 Responses to Nyquist go home!

  1. David Tanzer says:

    I just came across this blog posting an I had to comment. The warmer, richer sound of the vinyl comes from harmonic distortion, and that’s not a feature (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinyl_record#LP_versus_CD). A good reading about vinyl and it’s limitations is http://www.recordtech.com/prodsounds.htm.

  2. roman says:

    Thanks David for the information. You are right, the vinyl might indeed be more limited in fidelity than CD, but I don’t care as long as it sounds better for me. If it’s not a feature, then be it so. The 2nd article is very interesting though.

Leave a Reply

