OpenJDK in Eclipse

I have taken some time to setup an Eclise project for working with OpenJDK. I didn’t really get warm with NetBeans still and Eclipse has a couple of features that I wouldn’t want to miss when working with Java source code. You can download the Eclipse project settings here. Unpack it in your OpenJDK root directory and import the project. Most likely you have to tweak some parts of the build path, most obviously you have to change the path to your binary plugs. Please let me know if you have any problems or suggestions for improvements. I couldn’t solve two compiler errors, I believe this is a bug in ecj related to annotations. Update: I boiled the compiler problem down to a small testcase and filed a bugreport.

4 Responses to OpenJDK in Eclipse

  1. Nono says:

    Perhaps you should be more verbose on your bug report?
    You don’t give the error message the Eclipse compiler gives you, neither the part of the source code that trigger the error.

  2. roman says:

    I attached a small testcase that triggers the bug. Should be perfect for debugging and fixing.

  3. Pingback: Galder’s Passionate Blog » Blog Archive » JBoss Developer Studio + OpenJDK = FreeTee

  4. Hey Roman,

    Using your OpenJDK Eclipse project files, I’ve gone a step further to be able quickly rebuild an rt.jar with JBoss Developer Studio. Check it out and let me know what you think 🙂

    Thanks very much for putting together the project files originally. They helped me a lot getting started with this.

    Regards,

Leave a Reply

