OpenJDK rasterizer goodness

Some days ago I received an update from Jim Graham in private email that the rasterizer (anti-aliasing rendering and stroking) for OpenJDK is in a good enough shape to be published in one of the next builds. Hooray! He even agreed to send me the code early so I could test it and have a look and yay! it works. Performance is not yet superior though. I’ll take a look if I can improve on it.

Of course, he should have send all this to the mailing lists instead. I told him and I’m sure he’ll do that in the future. It’s really helpful when code comes out earlier than the standard builds. These always lag 2 or 3 weeks behind what the engineers are doing. This makes me feel quite disconnected, which isn’t a good thing for my motivation. I’m hoping that this will get better with the transition to mercurial that is going on. Hopefully they will grant the community at least read-access to the group workspaces then, and ideally there will be a relativly open community-workspace, to which members of the community can get commit access relatively painful and which can serve as an intermediate place for patches, from which the Sun engineers can pull those that are considered good.Some more critizism, some time ago, Keith and I posted patches to the core-libs and swing-dev lists, most of which fix one or the other bug in the DB and which are relatively trivial. They all remained unanswered yet. Maybe all the developers are on vacation right now? Otherwise it would be a good thing to at least acknowledge that somebody will do something about them. I mean, that’s what you get when you want to keep control over the code. Somebody should feel responsible for communication then, at least if the intention is to actually build an active community around OpenJDK.

Update: Jim posted the code for the rasterizer in public now. Thanks alot Jim!

Leave a Reply

