A hard day’s work

Today I managed to write only one line of code

value |= 0xFF000000;

This solved a whole couple of problems. Anybody who can guess what this does gets bonus points! (ok, it’s not that difficult..) Thank god I’m not payed by lines of code 😉 OTOH, my average loc count per day is much higher than this. Some time ago I read that the average lines of code written for extremely safety critical applications is around 1 line / day. So do I qualify for safety critical apps now? 😉

Ok, jokes aside. I upgrade my server on kennke.org today to Debian Etch, and am pleased that it had absolutely no problems, despite the fact that it went from Linux 2.4->2.6, Apache 1.x->2.x, MySQL4.x->5.x, etc. Awesome. Mind you, I did all this over an SSH connection to the server that is located some hundred kilometers from here, and to which I have no serial terminal connection. This is what I love about Debian on servers. I wonder why Fedora and other distros can’t do this. RPM isn’t really worse than DEB technically, but the quality of the packages seems to be a little lower generally.

2 Responses to A hard day’s work

  1. Ben Loud says:

    Damn Alpha Channels…

  2. Intransigent says:

    I’ve just changed 1300+ lines of code today. Sure, changed not written and its in C#. Its been a good day to work

Leave a Reply

