Closed PITA

I’m going nuts! I have a piece of software here, that segfaults somewhere in a proprietary video driver (but runs fine on all free drivers I tried). I still think it could be a fault on my side (after all it runs fine with Sun’s JDK on that same video driver). However, it is really hard to find out because that driver doesn’t ship with source code, nor does it have debug symbols in it (at least, that’s how it appears in GDB). The world would be so much easier when the source code would be there. Not that I would try to fix the driver (ok maybe I would), but it would be nice to know _what_ is going wrong here.

That makes me think that (I heard that) there are software developers who are stuck developing mostly with closed software and libraries and things like that. I wonder how they can reasonably get anything done? What are they doing in such a case? Calling some hotline and tell them to please fix the segfault?

Leave a Reply

