Interpreter Catfight

I did some benchmarks (Dacapo) of various interpreters. Find the results below. Interesting is that not one of the VMs I tested passed all Dacapo benchmark runs, not even the JDK. JamVM is the fastest but relativly unstable (fails at least 3 runs). If you’re interested in the actual numbers, ping me and I’ll be happy to paste them somewhere.

PLEASE NOTE that this only compares INTERPRETER performance. It doesn’t do the JITs any justice (Kaffe, Cacao and Hotspot) since they are running in slow-motion here. Also, apologize that I have Jamaica 3x here, that’s because I made this chart for my thesis and this happens to be all about Jamaica. Oh, and I should add that lower bars are better (the numbers on the left hand side are milliseconds needed to execute the benchmark)

Interpreter Performance

2 Responses to Interpreter Catfight

  1. Robert Lougher says:

    Hi Roman,

    Could you send me a quick email with the details of how JamVM failed? There definately was a problem with the Dacapo bloat benchmark which was fixed in JamVM 1.4.4. The version you tested is two releases out of date ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks.
    Rob.

  2. Kaffe’s interpreter again proves its utility as the baseline for interpreter benchmarks ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

