FOSDEM 2007 and other fun stuff

Have been at FOSDEM this year again. That was great fun, meeting even more people from GNU Classpath and OpenJDK. I think I just have to let it sink down a little bit and get the impressions sorted and write a little more then. One thing that’s for sure is that this is going to be an interesting year indeed.

One thing that’s been especially interesting for me was to meet Igor from Sun Microsystem’s Java2D team from St Petersburg. We chatted a little bit about fonts and the problems with the encumberances. Unfortunately way too little (can you think how short a weekend can be?). I’ll stay in contact with him though and once we get over the issues with the JRL with respect to beeing tainted on GNU Classpath development I might even help out with some encumbered stuff (and the GTK Look & Feel) even before the OpenJDK full launch. At least, that’s my hope.

Tomorrow (Feb, 28th) is my last day as a student. Beginning from march, 1st I’m officially free :-D. I still have to finish my thesis though (dealine in mid april). While that is certainly cool (FREE, yay!), it has the disadvantage that the tax and insurance hammer is now hitting me with full force. Let’s see how I get over these ‘last’ two months…

Leave a Reply

