Ubuntu Edgy

So I gave the latest Ubuntu beta a try. This is a very nice distro. All issues that I had with Dapper seems to be fixed, in particular, suspend-to-disk now works out of the box, 3D acceleration is supported for my graphics card by a free driver even and the DSDT issue is easily solved by putting the fixed DSDT into /etc/initramfs-tools (in contrast to recompiling the kernel on each and every update on the other distro I tried recently). This is the first distro (in almost 5 years) that my laptop likes 🙂
Besides that, everything else works very well too. I started out with a Dapper install and did an online upgrade, which goes without any problem at all, which is kinda impressive each time again, despite the fact that nowadays you can simply expect that from a Debian derived distros. (I sometimes wonder why other distros can’t accomplish that. It’s not that RPM in itself is worse than DEB. It seems more a matter of careful packaging and Q&A. Maybe it’s different priorities. But this is so enourmously useful, especially on server systems it seems unvaluable to perform seemless upgrades the Debian way.)

I’m looking forward to the final Edgy release, and I think this time I’ll order some free CD’s and hand it out to some friends.

One Response to Ubuntu Edgy

  1. roman says:

    I just want to test the hashcash thingy for once.

Leave a Reply

